Another Zappos Happy Story

I teach MBA Marketing Management.  Naturally, I have my students reading/viewing the Zappos story.  Today, one of my students, an MBA-JD double major emailed me this wonderful story to add to the Zappos legend….

A few weeks ago, I was up late reading an article for class about Zappos Customer Service excellence. I remembered earlier in the semester watching a YouTube clip for Dr. O’s class in which Tony Hsieh told the story of how a Zappos Customer Service Rep helped him and his friends find a pizza joint that was still open after a long night out at the bar. I’m sure you remember the story. And, as I was remembering this, I was feeling skeptical. I’ve ordered plenty of shoes from Zappos and couldn’t recall anything remarkable about it except that shipping was free, but it was offset by paying MSRP on the shoes. Thus, I called Zappos Customer Service. For no reason in particular.

 A gentleman named John answered. I said, “Hi, John. My name is Katherine. I have no intention of placing an order. I just called because I am reading an article about Zappos Customer Service, and having had plenty of customer service experience myself, I wouldn’t say I believe that it’s all just wine and roses when people call complaining all the time.” John responded, “You know, I’ll tell you, I’ve worked here for about 8 months, and I have had hardly any customer complaints. They’re pretty rare around here, and when we have them. It’s a pretty easy fix.”

 Anyway, John and I talked for close to two hours! Not once was he interrupted by someone telling him to get back to work, nor did he put me on hold to take another call. He didn’t try to sell me anything and didn’t even stop at all to check if a boss was around. Turns out, he’s from Pennsylvania, graduated from law school there, and moved to Las Vegas because it’s where he wants to practice law. He got the job at Zappos for something fun to do while he studying for the Bar Exam, and he hopes to work in the legal department for Tony’s nonprofit organization, Delivering Happiness, once he passes. 

 Another thing he told me, which I thought was cool, was that everyone who works at Zappos has met Tony, and John regularly runs into him whenever Zappos is offering up free food. John said that Zappos often supplies free food for everyone, for no reason, just because they figure people get hungry. In fact, John said that from his desk, he can see Tony’s office and Tony never closes the door and pretty much always wears jeans. John described him as “completely down to Earth. If you met him on the street you would have no idea how successful he is.” And so, as our conversation came to an end, I thanked John for his time. Before I could say goodbye, John asked for my shipping address. “I didn’t order anything,” I said. “No, no. I know. I’m going to send you a great book. It’s a really easy read. You’ll love it.”

 And he did. A few days later, I received a copy of Delivering Happiness: A Path to Profits, Passion, and Purpose signed by Tony Hsieh – one of Dr. O’s “Important Books” from the syllabus. No charge. No delivery fee. Just because.

 In the end, John made me a believer. Zappos really did live up to their reputation. So, I wanted to let you both know that you can both borrow the book whenever you would like. I’ve heard it’s great. J  

 Sincerely, 

KATHERINE E. LIPPMAN

 J.D./M.B.A. Candidate, 2014 | Marketing

Eli Broad Graduate School of Management

Michigan State University College of Law

lippmank@msu.edu| LinkedIn Profile

2 Responses to “Another Zappos Happy Story”


  1. 1 Nate Balko December 14, 2011 at 6:11 pm

    This is a great story. I was going to read this book over winter break, maybe I should have just called Zappo’s instead of downloading it on my e reader!

  2. 2 Megan Brody December 15, 2011 at 2:50 am

    Great story, Katherine! I actually started ordering shoes from them because of our class. I had to return a pair because they were defective, and I had such a pleasant experience as well. Enjoy the book over break!


Leave a comment